site stats

NBC To Broadcast Winter Olympic Games Live In All Time Zones

8 months ago by admin

NBC announced the network will broadcast all of its for the Winter Olympic Games 2018 from PyeongChang, South Korea live across all time zones. This marks the first time ever for live coverage at a Winter Olympics.

President, NBC Olympics Production & Programming, Jim Bell made the announcement today stating, “Nothing brings America together for two weeks like the Olympics, and that communal experience will now be shared across the country at the same time, both on television and streaming online,” he added, “That means social media won’t be ahead of the action in any time zone, and as a result, none of our viewers will have to wait for anything. This is exciting news for the audience, the advertisers, and our affiliates alike.”

“On most nights of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, the primetime broadcast will begin at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, and 5 p.m. PT. It will be followed in all time zones by local news, and then a “Primetime Plus” program, consisting of live continuing coverage from PyeongChang. A replay of the primetime program will follow “Primetime Plus,” according to the NBC press release.

This is both a modern and logical move for NBC. If you recall during the Summer Games in Rio, social media and television airings were revealing game results before they aired, which became frustrating for viewers.

Photo by: NBCUniversal

What do you think?