The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Announces Nominees for 2017 Induction

2 years ago by admin

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced the 19 nominees for the 2017 induction. “To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The 2017 Nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1991,” according to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame press release.

The nominees for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2017 are:

  • Bad Brains
  • Chaka Khan
  • Chic
  • Depeche Mode
  • Electric Light Orchestra
  • J. Geils Band
  • Jane’s Addiction
  • Janet Jackson
  • Joan Baez
  • Joe Tex
  • Journey
  • Kraftwerk
  • MC5
  • Pearl Jam
  • Steppenwolf
  • The Cars
  • The Zombies
  • Tupac Shakur
  • Yes

Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Steppenwolf, and Tupac Shakur, are nominees are on the ballot for the first time, with Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur who became eligible for nomination this year.

“Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 800 artists, historians and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration,” says the press release, and fans can vote online at

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will announce the 2017 inductees in December 2016, and The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2017 Inductions, presented by Klipsch Audio, will be held at Barclays Center in Brooklyn in April 2017 and broadcasted by HBO.

Photo: Rock & Roll Hall of Fame


What do you think?